Clear all

Career advice  

RSS

vanezlee
(@vanezlee)
11/08/2020 4:12 pm  

Hi everyone 🖐️ , 

Nice to meet you. 

I am looking for career advice, i.e. how do I get myself qualified for THIS type of Data analyst role. 

Context : I am a beginner in Machine Learning. I took up a foundational Microsoft Azure ML course. In my previous job, I have 2 years of SQL experience and around 6 years of Digital marketing operations/  Advertising / web analytics experience.  I don't have qualifications in the area of Statistics, Engineering, Computer Science, Applied Mathematics, Quantitative Social Science etc. I majored in Communications & Media in the past. 

Please, let me your your sound advice on how I may be qualified to reach this type of roles (besides  obviously taking up courses / MOOCs). 

Many thanks.

Linus Mok
(@linusmokaisingapore-org)
12/08/2020 8:59 am  
Thanks for your question. From the Job Description you shared, the role is more than a traditional Data Analyst role, where one is expected to prepare data, analyse and present it in a clear and concise fashion for analysis or decision making using software such as Tableau or Qlick. For this role, the incumbent would also, in addition to preparing data and pre-processing, need to do basic modelling and deployment - responsibilities/tasks done by an entry level AI Engineer.